Why does Windows say it is Installing New Hardware when I already ran the Focusrite Installer?

When you install your Focusrite Drivers or MixControl Software the installer will place the Focusrite drivers in Windows DriverStore where the files will remain, whether they are in use or not.

 

When you connect your device to the computer the OS will see that hardware is being connected and attempt to connect it to it's driver.  Windows calls this "Installing New Hardware" but it is actually just linking the hardware to the driver you have already placed in the DriverStore.

 

You will see this has been done properly by the computer when the device is listed as "working properly" in Windows' Device Manager.

 

Windows is not attempting to install it's own driver over the Focusrite driver or replace previously installed drivers with new ones.  It is simply searching it's driver store for the appropriate driver for the newly connected hardware.

 

Be aware that on some of our devices you will see this process occur multiple times.

 

For example on the Saffire devices it will connect the Focusrite Firewire Driver, Focusrite Audio Driver and Focusrite MIDI Drivers to different areas of the interface.  This sometimes leads users to worry they are caught in an endless loop.

 

While these messages sometimes seem out of place to users please do not worry, they will happen each time you connect the device after it has been disconnected.

 

Please let the messages run while the computer finishes its tasks completely and your device will be ready for use.  Do not unplug the device during this time or cancel the messages.